Food log

I know this was promised a few weeks ago but here it is in all its glory:

This was for the week of February 21, 2011

Monday: This was right after a ski weekend so very low to moderate activity (fat burning) over the last couple of days, which is why I only had two meals.

  • Breakfast – 4 Scrambled eggs with cheese, 3 pieces of bacon, and one medium sized potato (pealed)
  • Snack – handful of raw macadamia nuts and glass of coconut milk
  • Dinner – Spinach salad with olive oil and vinegar dressing,  Shrimp scampi (shrimp and broccoli cooked in butter), a couple ounces of natural sauerkraut.
  • Dessert – Guinness
  • Fat = 101.2-grams, 49% of diet
  • Protein = 129.3-grams, 29% of diet
  • Carbs = 85.8-grams, 18% of diet
  • Alcohol = 4% of diet
  • Total Calories = 1821

The calories and carbohydrates were a lower than I would expect, but I simply was not very hungry.

Tuesday:

  • Breakfast – 4 scrambled eggs with cheese and a medium sized potato (pealed)
  • Lunch – Gnocchi (potato noodles) with homemade spaghetti sauce (my sauce has a lot of meat)
  • Snack – handful of raw macadamia nuts and a couple of ounces of natural sauerkraut
  • Dinner – Spinach salad with olive oil and vinegar dressing, Gnocchi with homemade spaghetti sauce
  • Fat = 87.1-grams, 40% of diet
  • Protein = 78.7-grams, 17% of diet
  • Carbs = 192.8-grams, 43% of diet
  • Total Calories = 1773

Ironically even eating lunch, my calories were less than yesterday’s, guess I should have had a Guinness.

Quick side note: The calorie count is not 100%ccurate, I use Fit day to track my food and while it has a lot of information, it makes assumptions. For instance the  spaghetti sauce used for the calculation was from fit day it was not mine. My sauce has a lot of meat, so while the calculations are close they are not 100% accurate.

Wednesday:

  • Breakfast – 4 scrambled eggs with cheese and a medium sized potato (pealed)
  • Lunch – Gnocchi (potato noodles) with homemade spaghetti sauce (big portion)
  • Dinner – Chicken Wings and 2 Guinness (Meal of champions)
  • Fat = 119.5-grams, 43% of diet
  • Protein = 144.3-grams, 24% of diet
  • Carbs = 165.6-grams, 26% of diet
  • Alcohol = 6% of diet (I bet I can get this higher)
  • Total Calories = 2482

Thursday: On the road…a day trip for work.

  • Breakfast – 4 Scrambled eggs with cheese, 3 pieces of bacon, and one medium sized potato (pealed)
  • Lunch – Two green chili cheese burgers from McDonald (did not eat the bun) not the healthiest but what are you going to do when you need a quick meal?
  • Dinner – Rice noodles with homemade spaghetti sauce (big portion)
  • Fat = 138.7-grams, 53% of diet
  • Protein = 161.8-grams, 29% of diet
  • Carbs = 102.1-grams, 18% of diet
  • Total Calories = 2323

This is all a had recorded for this week. I got busy with a cross-country road trip and I was not good at recording what I ate for the next few weeks. I am now tracking my food again and these will become more regular.

A couple of observations: My calorie count was surprisingly low considering how hard I workout. But for those of you that know me personally I don’t starve myself. If I am hungry I will eat…in fact I have been known to order another meal in a restaurant because I was still hungry. So don’t think that I am keeping my calories low in an effort to lose weight, I am not some crazy chick that thinks calorie restriction is a weight loss plan. First of all, I don’t believe counting calories is even a great plan for losing weight and second I am not trying to lose weight, in fact gaining 5-lb of muscle would probably help with my body composition (appearance).

I believe my calorie count is low because nearly 50% of my calories come from fat. Not all calories are created equal and I believe this proves it. Calories from fat are more satisfying and I don’t need to be snacking constantly. I am tracking my food to track macro-nutrients not calories. I really don’t care how many calories I eat, I want to try and eat at least 1-gram per 1-lb of body weight for both protein and carbohydrates (at the minimum). After doing a quick review of this week I am close but I need a little more of both, I currently 165-lb so I am aiming for 165-grams of each.

Lastly, as you can probably tell I don’t have a problem eating leftovers. I tend to do all my cooking for the week on Sunday. I will make two or three big meals and eat it for the rest of the week. I know it is not very sexy but it is practical!

Leave a Reply

